Nomination file for the CPA Émérite Award

Prix Émérite EN

> Back to CPA Émérite Award

Selection criteria

This award is presented to a CPA who obtained his or her accounting designation more than 10 years ago and who has had a remarkable career. The award recipient must have many achievements to his or her credit, made a significant contribution to the advancement or visibility of the profession in the region and be recognized for exceptional services.

Achievements and outcomes (60% of the points)
Describe the original and innovative nature of the nominee’s professional achievements that had the greatest impact on the nominee’s organization, whether in public practice, business, government or education.

Professional involvement (20% of the points)
Describe how the nominee’s professional achievements have contributed to the visibility of the profession. For example, indicate the nominee’s involvement in various associations (chambers of commerce, business associations, etc.).

Involvement in the community and with charitable organizations (20% of the points)
Mention the nominee’s contributions to the community or charitable organizations either personally or through various cultural, political, athletic or charitable organizations, and how these contributions have raised the CPA profession’s visibility in the region.

Eligibility criteria

Nominees must meet the following requirements:

  • have their accounting designation for more than 10 years;
  • be a member in good standing of the Quebec CPA Order;
  • be a member of the CPA Group that presents the award (have a place of business in the CPA Group's region);
  • have made significant achievements.


The following persons are not eligible for this award:

  • members of the CPA Group council or its committees;
  • members of the Order’s Board of directors who serve on the Group’s council;
  • members who hold the FCPA title;
  • members employed by the Order.

The following persons are not eligible for this award:

  • members who have been the subject of a disciplinary decision resulting in their being struck off the roll of a professional order or a similar organization;
  • members who have been struck off the roll or whose right to engage in professional activities has been suspended by the Board of directors or the Executive committee under sections 45, 45.1 and 55.1 of the Professional Code (criminal offence or disciplinary decision rendered by another order);
  • members who, at the time their nomination is submitted and reviewed, are subject to a limitation or suspension of the right to engage in professional activities;
  • members who are the subject of a syndic inquiry or who have been found guilty of a civil, criminal or penal offence.

Selection process

  • The Selection committee has the authority to recommend a winner after reviewing the nominations. It may recommend that the CPA Émérite Award not be presented for a given year, or that it be presented to 2 nominees of equal merit.
  • A nomination that has not been selected may be resubmitted, up to a maximum of 3 additional times.
  • The Selection committee’s deliberations, the names of the nominees who have not been selected and the content of the nomination files will remain confidential. A summary of the winner’s achievements will be prepared for publication.
  • The Selection committee’s decision is final and cannot be appealed.
  • The winner is informed of the decision by telephone and in writing.

Nomination file

Each nomination file must include:

  • the duly completed nomination form;
  • the documents supporting the nomination (maximum 10 pages);
  • the curriculum vitae of the nominee.

Each nomination file must include 2 letters of recommendation signed by chartered professional accountants. The authors must be sufficiently knowledgeable about the nominee and his or her achievements to attest to the accuracy of the information contained in the nomination file.

Call for nominations

Nomination files are only accepted during the annual nomination period, which has ended at 4:00 p.m on November 25, 2016. Only complete files will be submitted to the Selection committee. The next call for nominations will take place in 2017.


Award recipients agree to have their name mentioned in a press release issued by the Order. They also agree to have their photo and a brief description of their achievements published in the media, in Order communications to members and on the Order’s website.

Award recipients authorize the Order to retain their nomination file in its bank of nominees for a period of 10 years for submission to external contests or awards, provided the Order obtains their consent before making such submissions.


Please contact your regional group:

Abitibi-Témiscamingue CPA Group:
Chaudière-Appalaches CPA Group:
Lanaudière CPA Group:
Laval – Laurentides CPA Group:
Montreal CPA Group:
Outaouais CPA Group:
Quebec City CPA Group:
Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean CPA Group: